How to Deal With the Death of a Loved One

Cremation services at Overland Park KS

There is no avoiding death, but each individual deals with the prospect in their own unique way. If you have recently lost someone you cared deeply about, you may be going through a challenging time right now. The death of a loved one can be extremely taxing on a person’s mental and physical health. Additionally, there is a great deal of practical and financial considerations as well, including finding the right cremation services at Overland Park, KS.

Here are the steps on how to cope up with a loved one’s demise:

Step 1: Allow Feelings

Grief brings out every emotion possible. When multiple emotions arise at once, you may feel anxious. It is normal to have a variety of emotions.

In sorrow and grief, remind yourself that your sensations are normal. There is no correct or wrong way to grieve a loss.

Step 2: Get Support

While you may prefer to be alone while suffering with loss, it is crucial to gather a support group. During your mourning, you should reach out to friends, family, a minister or rabbi, and a therapist. These people can provide emotional and physical support. A support network can temporarily fill the void left by a loved one’s death.

Step 3: Allow grieving

Grief takes time. Everyone handles loss differently. Grief is eternal. You must face grief as it comes.

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross defined five grief stages in On Death and Dying. Each stage is different and not experienced in order. Replaying stages is possible. Stages include:

Initial denial: Your experience is incomprehensible. You find it difficult to accept the reality of your loved one’s passing, and you may feel numb.

As the reality of the situation begins to sink in, it is normal to experience anger and rage. This rage may be directed at oneself, the loved one for abandoning one, doctors for failing to heal the loved one, or even God.

It is common for survivors to cope with loss by attempting to negotiate, typically with their superior power. Do not be surprised if you find yourself attempting to strike a “if only” bargain with God.

Depression: The overwhelming sadness you feel is normal and, in the majority of cases, temporary. It is typical to feel as though life will never be the same again.

This final stage of bereavement and grief is known as acceptance, and it involves coming to terms with the finality of the loss and moving on with your life. It does not mean that you will never experience any of the above stages again, but rather that the pain of your loss will become more manageable.

Step 4: Embrace life

Cremation service at Overland Park KSDavid K. Switzer writes in Dynamics of Grief: Its Source, Pain, and Healing on rediscovering one’s life. You must feel the agony of your loss, but you must also start living again. By conquering a loved one’s death, you’ll accept it. You’ll be able to move on without your loved one.

Your mourning and grief are unique. Loss affects everyone differently. Be compassionate to yourself and realize that the agony will lessen and life will carry on. Always remember to work closely with the best cremation services at Overland Park, KS to make things a little more bearable for you. Visit the location.

Filed Under: ,